Singapore Allows Travelers from India, Nepal from Oct 26

Photo: Bloomberg

Despite an increase in Covid-19 cases, Singapore announced on Saturday that travel to South Asian nations such as India, Nepal, and Bangladesh would resume. According to news agency ANI, the country’s health ministry said that beginning October 26, 2021, any travelers with a 14-day trip history to India, Bangladesh, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka will be able to enter or transit through Singapore.

Previously, visitors from these countries were denied entry to Singapore. Following an assessment of the Covid-19 situation in these nations, the new development is likely to have occurred.

Travelers from certain nations, on the other hand, will be subjected to the strictest border controls, including a 10-day stay-at-home notice period at a specialized facility, according to the health ministry.

Over 3,000 Covid-19 infections have been reported every day in Singapore recently, with a peak of 3637 cases on Friday.

Singapore welcomed the first travelers under an extended quarantine-free program on Wednesday, marking a significant step toward the aviation hub resuming international connections. Vaccinated arrivals from Canada, Denmark, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, the United Kingdom, and the United States have been granted access to the so-called vaccinated travel lanes (VTL) as of this week. People from these countries are exempt from quarantine if they pass the Covid-19 tests.

Meanwhile, Singapore plans to let fully vaccinated visitors from 15 more countries enter without having to go through quarantine. Indonesia, Malaysia, Vietnam, and the United Arab Emirates are among them, according to Bloomberg.