Thor: Love and Thunder Soundtrack has Plenty of ’80s Rock

Photo: Collected

The first trailer for Thor: Love and Thunder was especially special for fans of 1980s rock and Guns N’ Roses, as it featured the legendary guitar riff from ” Sweet Child O’ Mine ” His time with the Guardians of the Galaxy had a significant impact on him, as evidenced by the theme’s seamless integration with the film’s eighties-inspired presentation as seen in the superheroes’ costumes.

If you enjoyed the trailer, you will certainly enjoy the rest of the soundtrack, which features not just the Guns N’ Roses theme but also multiple others, as well as other 80s and other oldies. Taika Waititi stated that he intended the film’s “bombastic, loud, and bright palette” to be reflected in the music.

Songs in Thor: Love and Thunder

  • “Only Time” – Enya
  • “Welcome To The Jungle” – Guns N’ Roses
  • “Paradise City” – Guns N’ Roses
  • “Old Spice Sea Chanty” – Ginger Johnson
  • “Fighting” – Michael Raphael
  • “Our Last Summer” – ABBA
  • “Family Affair” – Mary J. Blige
  • “Sweet Child O’ Mine” – Guns N’ Roses
  • “Goodies” – Ciara
  • “Hey Ninny-Nonny” – Taika Waititi
  • “November Rain” – Guns N’ Roses
  • “Rainbow In The Dark” – Dio

The film also features “Welcome to the Jungle,” “Paradise City,” and “November Rain” by Guns N’ Roses. They are the four most significant songs in the career of the legendary band, which continues to tour the globe. The metal continues with the Ronnie James Dio classic “Rainbow in the Dark,” which complements the film’s ambiance.

But not all objects are metallic. The inclusion of “Our Last Summer” by ABBA and a song by Enya is not surprising given the comedy of Taika Waititi (who also has a song credit). We will not engage in spoilers. On the other hand, Ciara and Mary J. Blige also participate in hip hop, which is not unusual.

In general, the soundtrack is reminiscent of James Gunn’s compositions for Guardians of the Galaxy, with a retro dad rock compilation, but Waititi adds more variety with different genres and a touch of humour.

Michael Giacchino (responsible for the Spider-Man and Jojo Rabbit trilogies) and Nami Melumad, a composer who has worked on the Star Trek franchise, wrote the film’s score. The album of this composition, which has 28 tracks, has lately been described.

Here is the list of all 28 songs:

  1. “Mama’s Got a Brand New Hammer”
  2. “Just Desert”
  3. “Indigarr with the Diva”
  4. “The Not Ready for New Asgard Players”
  5. “See Jane Thor”
  6. “Distressed Out”
  7. “Cap Animals”
  8. “A Cap Phobia”
  9. “The Ax Games”
  10. “Thoring to New Heights”
  11. “Show Intel”
  12. “We’re Not Emos We’re Gods”
  13. “The Zeus Fanfares”
  14. “I Was in the Pool!”
  15. “Saving Face”
  16. “Utter Lunarcy”
  17. “Think on Your Defeat”
  18. “Bedside Hammer”
  19. “Temple-itis”
  20. “Surely, Temple”
  21. “The Power of Thor Propels You”
  22. “Foster? I Barely Know Her!”
  23. “Jane Stop This Crazy Thing”
  24. “One Wish to Rule Them All”
  25. “All’s Fair in Love and Thor”
  26. “Bawl and Jane”
  27. “The Kids Are Alright”
  28. “The Ballad of Love and Thunder”