India National Awards 2022: Here’s the Full Winners List

Photo: Collected

India National Film Awards used to be given out in May. But because of the new coronavirus pandemic, it was pushed back last year by a year and this year by a couple of months. The winners were named at a press conference on July 22 at the National Media Centre in New Delhi. On Friday, July 22, the winners’ names were announced at the 68th National Film Awards.  

Suriya and Ajay Devgn won the National Award for Best Actor for their roles in Soorarai Pottru and Tanhaji, respectively. Aparna Balamurali won the National Award for Best Actress for her role in Soorarai Pottru. Madhya Pradesh was given the National Award for Most Film-Friendly State, and Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh were given special mention. The film director Priyadarshan was in charge of this category’s jury.



Special Mention

Best Tulu Film: Jeetige

Best Haryanvi Film: Dada Lakhmi

Best Telugu Film: Colour Photo

Best Tamil Film: Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengallum

Best Dimasa: Semkhor

Best Malayalam Film: Thinkalazcha nishchayam

Best Marathi Film: Goshta Eka Paithanichi

Best Kannada Film: Dollu

Best Hindi Film: Toolsidas Junior

Best Bengali Film: Avijatrik

Best Assamese Film: Bridge

Best Action Direction Award: Rajasekhar, Mafia and Supreme Sunder for AK Ayyappanum Koshiyum (Malayalam)

Best Choreography: Sandhya Raju for Natyam (Telugu)

Best Special Effects:

Special Jury Award:

Best Lyrics: Manoj Muntashir for Saina (Hindi)

Best Music Direction

Songs: Thaman S for Ala Vaikunthapurramuloo (Telugu)

Background Music: GV Prakash Kumar for Soorarai Pottru

Make-Up Artist: TV Rambabu for Natyam (Telugu)

Best Costume Designer: Nachiket Barve and Mahesh Sherla for Tanhaji (Hindi)

Best Production Design: Anees Nadodi for Kappela (Malayalam)

Best Editing: Sreekar Prasad for Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengallum (Tamil)

Best Audiography

Location Sound Recordist: Jobin Jayan for Dollu (Kannada)

Sound Designer: Anmol Bhave for Mi Vasantrao (Marathi)

Re-recording of the final mixed track: Sree Sankar for Malik (Malayalam)

Best Screenplay (Original): Shalin Usha Nair and Sudha Kongara for Soorarai Pottru (Tamil)

Dialogue Writer: Mandonne Ashwin for Mandela (Tamil

Best Cinematography: Supratim Bhol for Avijatrik (Bengali)

Best Female Playback Singer: Nanchamma for AK Ayyappanum Koshiyum (Malayalam)

Best Male Playback Singer: Rahul Deshpande for Mi Vasantrao (Marathi) and Anish Mangesh Gosavi for Taktak (Marathi)

Best Supporting Actress: Lakshmi Priya Chandramouli for Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengallum (Tamil)

Best Supporting Actor: Biju Menon for AK Ayyappanum Koshiyum (Malayalam)

Best Actress: Aparna Balamurali

Best Actor: Suriya for Soorarai Pottru and Ajay Devgn for Tanhaji: The Unsung Hero

Best Direction: Sachinanandan KR for AK Ayyappanum Koshiyum (Malayalam)

Best Children Film: Sumi (Marathi)

Best Film on Environment Conservation: Taledanda (Kannada)

Best Film on Social Issue: Funeral (Marathi)

Best Feature Film (Award for Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment): Tanhaji: The Unsung Hero (Hindi)

Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of Director: Mandela (Tamil)

Best Feature Film: Soorarai Pottru


Best Music Direction: Vishal Bhardwaj for Marenge toh Vahin Jaa Kar

Best Cinematography: Nikhil S Praveen for Shabdikunna Kalappa

Best Investigative film: The Saviour: Brig Pritam Singh

Best Exploration Film: Wheeling The Ball

Best Educational Film: Dreaming of Words (Malayalam)

Best Film on Social Issues: Justice Delayed But Delivered and Three Sisters

Every year, India National Film Awards are given out to honor great movies. At the 67th National Film Awards 2021, Manoj Bajpayee and Dhanush won the National Award for Best Actor for their roles in Bhonsle and Asuran, respectively. Kangana Ranaut won the National Award for Best Actress for her role in Manikarnika.