Australia Win First T20 World Cup Title Defeating New Zealand

Photo: Sky Sports

Australia won their first T20 World Cup, defeating New Zealand by eight wickets in the final at the Dubai International Stadium on Sunday. The Australians were not to be denied this time after being defeated by England in the 2010 final in Bridgetown, Barbados, as they produced a superb batting display in the chase to totally outclass New Zealand. Australia’s chase stars were Mitchell Marsh (77 not out) and David Warner, while Josh Hazlewood was the standout with the ball in hand.

With seven balls remaining, the Aussies surpassed New Zealand’s score of 173, chasing a tough target of 173. Warner smashed a couple of boundaries to get Australia off to a good start. Trent Boult, on the other hand, maintained Aaron Finch’s difficulties at the top of the order by dismissing him for just 5.

At the loss of Finch’s wicket, Mitchell Marsh stepped out to bat and hit the ground running, slamming a six and back-to-back fours off the first three balls he faced. After that, the Australian all-rounder didn’t look back, pounding the New Zealand bowling lineup into submission.

If Marsh’s bombardment wasn’t enough, New Zealand bowlers also had to deal with Warner, who was in fine form and found the boundary at will.

Warner was the first player to achieve the half-century mark, smashing a six from James Neesham to accomplish the milestone. Warner and Marsh contributed 92 runs in 59 balls to give Australia complete command of the chase.

Boult returned to offer New Zealand a much-needed breakthrough, dismissing Warner for 53 runs, but Marsh remained unstoppable. The lanky Australian all-rounder wreaked havoc on the New Zealand bowlers, scoring a half-century in the process. Glenn Maxwell joined him on the course and took a couple of deliveries before teeing off.

As New Zealand struggled to keep the Australian batsmen quiet, Marsh and Maxwell continued to find the boundaries. Maxwell sealed the deal with a reverse ramp to the third man, sending the team into ecstasy.

Martin Guptill and Daryl Mitchell had given New Zealand a strong start when they were put in to bat earlier. Mitchell, who guided New Zealand to victory in the semi-final against Pakistan, failed to repeat his heroics and was bowled for 11 runs by Josh Hazlewood.

The New Zealand innings was steadied by Guptill and skipper Kane Williamson, although at the cost of the run rate. The duo made modest progress, with Australian bowlers keeping things under control.

But everything changed when Williamson, who was batting at 21, was dropped in the deep by Hazlewood. Williamson slammed on the gas then slammed the brakes on the Australian attack. Despite losing Guptill, New Zealand’s captain kept attacking the Australians.

Only on can you listen to the most recent tunes. As New Zealand sped to a large total, the elegant right-hander tore Mitchell Starc apart. In the same over, Hazlewood returned to dismiss Glenn Phillips and Williamson. In one of the most spectacular innings of any T20 World Cup, Williamson was dismissed for 85 in just 48 balls.

New Zealand scored 172 for four in their 20 overs, with too late fireworks from James Neesham.

Apart from it, you can read these articles: SEAL Team Season 5, DaBaby net worthShetland Season 6, Primal Season 2, Cells at work Season 2Goku6ix9ine net worthThe Shannara Chronicles Season 3Death Note season 2KProxyKung Fu Panda 47StarHD123MkvAfdahFFMoviesBolly4UMoviesflixTrueIDCrystals for ProtectionMewingHow to charge crystalsKnightfall Season 3Vampire Diaries season 9Homeland Season 9Sherlock season 5Goodyear Viva 3High sleeper bedCash for CarsF95zonethe 100 Season 8Salvation Season 3Shadowhunters season 4Poldark season 6Good Place season 5Madison beer net worthGravity Falls season 3Hunter x Hunter season 7Marvelous Mrs. Maisel Season 4Bloodborne 2Derry Girls season 3, and Knightfall Season 3, you can follow our EntertainmentHealthTechnology, and Business category.